Simple Things

I’ve renewed my appreciation for Yoga Journal in the course of writing this blog, I’ve discovered a treasure of knowledge in the website’s archives. Although I find the blogs less appealing, I might rethink that opinion due to this lovely YJ blog post called Simple Things. The author writes that, as her yoga practice matures, her attitude about it gets simpler. She writes:

I am less concerned than ever about where I place my mat in class, what I’m wearing, whether or not I’ll ever do a handstand without a wall (OK, I still dream about this one), and whether home practice is better than class. I have cared deeply about every one of these, but they’re receding in the rear view mirror.

What I do contemplate now, on and off the mat, are things like this:

Open is better than closed. Open body, open mind, open heart. Not always easier, but always preferable.

Discomfort goes away when I don’t meet it with resistance. 

Pushing doesn’t work. Google Sisyphus.

Accepting what is grants me immediate freedom. All of a sudden my head is 90 percent quieter.

Joy makes me healthy.

And as always, love wins.

Leave a Reply

